Staff & Board

Botanical Gardens Staff

The Buffalo and Erie County Staff and Board of Directors
Call 716.827.1584 and then the extension

David J. Swarts, President/CEO
extension 202 - dswarts@buffalogardens.com

Julie DeCarolis, Senior Director of Operations
extension 200 - jdecarolis@buffalogardens.com

Erin Grajek, Associate Vice President of
Marketing & Visitor Experience
extension 204 – egrajek@buffalogardens.com


Development

Brittany Finnegan-Zandi, Director of Development 
extension 203 – bzandi@buffalogardens.com

 

Education

Kristy Blakely, Director of Education
extension 291 - kblakely@buffalogardens.com 

Jolene Baj, Education Program Coordinator
extension 292 - jbojar@buffalogardens.com

Amanda Oldham, Education Program Assistant
aoldham@buffalogardens.com


Facilities

Todd Zintz, Director of Facilities
extension 214 - tzintz@buffalogardens.com

Travis Schmitt, Facilities Assistant

Guest Services & Gift Shop

Denise Nichols, Guest Services & Gift Shop Manager
extension 209 – dnichols@buffalogardens.com

Mary Jane Stefano, Guest Services & Gift Shop Associate
Gift Shop - extension 212

Holly Bloom, Guest Services & Gift Shop Associate
Gift Shop - extension 212


Horticulture

Jeff Thompson, Director of Horticulture
extension 205 -jthompson@buffalogardens.com

Julie Hughes,
Horticulturist
extension 208 - jhughes@buffalogardens.com

Kristin Lotz, Horticulturist
extension 228 - klotz@buffalogardens.com

Darla Mohrlock, Gardener
dmohrlock@buffalogardens.com


Weddings and Private Events

Christina Stannard, Director of Weddings and Special Events
extension 219 - cstannard@buffalogardens.com

Alexis Schmitz, Weddings and Special Events Coordinator
extension 220 - aschmitz@buffalogardens.com

Volunteers

Karen Hammer, Program & Volunteer Coordinator
extension 207 – khammer@buffalogardens.com

 

Board of Directors

Officers

Chairman
Joe DiDomenico, Niagara Frontier Orchid Society

Vice Chairman
Ed Dore, Dore Landscape Associates Inc.

Vice Chairman
Lynn Kozinski, Medaille College

Secretary
Rose Ann Dulski, Western New York Garden Railway Society

Treasurer
Adam J. Poole, CPA, Freed Maxick & Battaglia, CPAs, PC

At Large Members
Dr. Maria Rita P. Andaya
Gordon Ballard, Ad Stuff Promotional Products
Thomas Beauford, Jr., M&T Bank
Michael Buckley, University at Buffalo
Henry Burns
George Cameron, Moog, Inc.
Diane Chrisman
Lawrence E. Christ, LiteLab, Inc.
Patricia E. Connolly
Joan Crosby, Canisius College
Joseph Del Vecchio, National Fuel Resources, Inc.
Thomas Gaffney, Esq., Lippes Mathias Wexler Friedman LLP
Richard F. Griffin, Esq., Kavinoky Cook, LLP  
Peter Heffley, Canisius College
Elizabeth Holden, Hodgson Russ
Stephanie M. Karnas, M&T Bank
Mary Ann Kresse
Elizabeth Licata, Buffalo Spree Magazine
Francesca B. Mesiah, Kaleida Health
David McIntyre
Patricia O’Connor, Mercy Skilled Nursing Facility
Cathy Paladino, Ellicott Development Company
Sara Root, Eric Mower and Associates
Michael Shadrack, WNY Hosta Society

Barbara Tomasi, Stahlka Agency

Ex-Officio Directors
G. Maura Cohen, Representative of the Legislature Chairman
Stephanie Crockett, Buffalo Olmsted Parks Conservancy
Joseph McMahon, Representative of the Erie County Executive
Troy Schinzel, Commissioner of Erie County Parks

Immediate Past-Chair
Miche C. Needham, CPA, Lumsden & McCormick.LLP

Director Emeritus
Florence DaLuiso-Zoll